Despite delimitation and changed caste equations in Kunda assembly constituency, the fate of four time sitting MLA, Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, is apparently unchanged.

With Raja Bhaiya contesting on Kunda seat since 1993, the fight has become one sided. No candidate is in a position to challenge Raja Bhaiya who has been registering victory against his nearest rival by a huge margin.

The independent candidate Raja Bhaiya defeated Shiv Prakash Mishra Senani of the Bahujan Samaj Party in 2007. Raja Bhaiya enjoys the support of the Samajwadi Party who did not field its candidate against him. Soon after Mulayam Singh Yadav taking over the charge of Chief Ministership in the state in 2002, charges of the Prevention of Terrorism Acts were withdrawn against Raja Bhaiya, who has a number of cases registered against him.

The Bharatiya Janata Party also supported him in 2007 in order to grab Thakur voters in other assembly segments too. However this time the BJP fielded Tribhuvan Dutt Mishra Tandan on Kunda seat.

If Raja Bhaiya wins this election, he will be the first independent MLA in the state to win five successive terms in a row.