Washington: The US and Britain have imposed visa restrictions on 50 Iranians, including government ministers and military officers, for alleged human rights violations in their country.

The restrictions cover those who have played a role in the ongoing repression of students, human rights defenders, lawyers, artists, civil society representatives, women's rights leaders, and religious and ethnic minorities, the State Department said on Friday.

Canada also announced support for the new restrictions which will be imposed on more than 50 Iranian officials, including government ministers, military and law enforcement officers, judiciary and prison officials.

"The actions are an important reminder to Iran that the international community will continue to hold accountable those officials who commit human rights abuses and suppress the democratic aspirations of fellow citizens," Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said.

"Until the Iranian government brings human rights abusers to justice and protects its citizens, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and other partners will stand up on behalf of the Iranian people," she said.

US has taken similar measures in the past against officials from Libya, Belarus and Cote d'Ivoire for alleged human rights-related abuses.

Under the provisions of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), the State Department has already been denying and revoking visas of individuals involved in proliferation and terrorism.

"Today's joint action serves as a reminder to the Iranian government that we will continue to hold its officials accountable for human rights abuses against the Iranian people," the State Department said.