Citizens of the 38 countries, which are part of the visa waiver programme, would no longer be able to get an automatic entry into the United States if they have visited these four countries – Iran, Iraq, Sudan and Syria – after March 2011, the State Department said.

The State Department said any traveller who receives notification that they are no longer eligible to travel under the Visa Waiver Programme (VWP) are still eligible to travel to the US with a valid non immigrant visa issued by a US embassy or consulate.

White House Press Secretary Josh Earnest said the goal here is to improve and tighten the screening measures that were in place for those individuals that had recently travelled to countries that were the state sponsor of terrorism.

The restrictions that have been put in place do not prevent individuals from travelling to the United States.

Latest News from World News Desk