Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh Assembly Speaker on Tuesday disqualified BSP MLA Sher Bahadur Singh, who had recently defected to Samajwadi Party, from the House under anti-defection law.

Speaker Sukhdev Rajbhar said the action has been taken on the petition filed by BSP State Unit President Swami Prasad Maurya against Singh, an MLA from Jalalpur (Ambedkarnagar) seat.

Maurya had moved the petition on August 27 in this connection, Rajbhar said, adding that his disqualification has come into effect from July 25.

The BSP State Unit President has also moved similar petitions against Satish Verma, an MLA from Mallawan (Hardoi) and Bhagwan Sharma alias Guddu Pandit, who represents Dibai  (Bulandshahr) constituency, the Speaker said.

Both these MLAs had also left the ruling party recently.

The petitions are under consideration, Rajbhar added. He said that Maurya on Tuesday filed another petition seeking disqualification of Bikapur MLA, Jitendra Singh Babloo who had switched over to the Peace Party last week.

Last month, the Speaker had disqualified Mahfooz Kidwai, a BSP MLA from Masauli (Barabanki).     With today's action two MLAs of the 15th state Assembly have so far been disqualified from the House.