Lucknow: The nomination for the biennial election to the Upper House of Parliament has begun. For the ten seats of Uttar Pradesh, six party leaders from different political parties filed their nomination on Friday.

Names include Rashid Masood of the Congress, Brij Bhushan Tiwari, Karnmaya Nanda, Munwar Salim, Naresh Agarwal and Darshan Singh of the Samajwadi Party (SP).

During the nomination  ,new Chief Minister of the state Akhilesh Yadav was also present along with Ramgopal Yadav, Shivpal Yadav, Azaam Khan, Ambika Chaudhari and Mata Prasad Pandey.
SP which swept recently held state assembly polls , has six seats in its share. It is most likely that Jaya Bachchan will also file the nomination for Rajya Sabha.

Meanwhile, former Chief Minister of the state and Bahujan Samaj Party Supremo Mayawati and Munkad Ali have already filed their nominations.

However , Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which has already one seat in share is yet to select its candidate from the state. The last date for the nomination is slated for March 19.