Chakrata is a reserved seat for the scheduled castes in Dehradun district which has become a high profile assembly seat in 2012 state election as two heavy weights- sitting MLA and former minister Preetam Singh of Congress and two times MLA Munna Singh of Uttarakhand Janwadi Party (UJP) – are contesting from here.

Interestingly, the history of conventional voting pattern in the constituency shows that candidate’s individual credibility plays a vital role in deciding the opinion of the voters rather than his association with any party.

Given the caste equation on this seat, Kamla Chauahan of the BJP, Ghanshyam Kunwar of the BSP and six other independent candidates are also in fray.

Late Congress leader Thakur Gulab Singh clinched series of victory from here. Inheriting political legacy from his father Gulab Singh, Pritam Singh took over the command.

After the delimitation exercise, 113 new villages have been added to the Chakrata constituency which is presumably going to disturb the calculations for the candidates in fray on the seat.