Home   Constituencies
Candidates History Schedule

Congress struggles to select U’khand CM

U’khand: 3 BSP MLAs give support to Cong

BJP moots for a new face in Uttarakhand

Azad holds talks with 32 party MLAs

More News

U’khand from Devbhumi to development

Ruling BJP and main opposition party Congress are the two main stakeholders in Uttarakhand assembly election. Both the parties have been predominant in the state politics since November 2000 when the new state of Uttaranchal was carved out of Uttar Pradesh. Later, the state was renamed as Uttarakhand in 2007. The 70-member state assembly was first dominated by the BJP government since 1999 to 2002 while the Congress remained in power from 2002 to 2007. After 2007 state elections, the BJP formed its government for the second time by joining hands with Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD).

Political identity of Uttarakhand : The fight for the political identity of Uttarakhand began with the agitation led by the ruler of Tehri, Manvendra Shah. Later, after the independence, Tehri was merged with the Uttar Pradesh.  MORE