Uttarakhand: The stage is set for the 70-member assembly elections in Uttarakhand, with political parties evolving strategies to win the battle. All eyes are on the hot seat of Uttarakhand: Kotdwar, because of high-end personalities being in fray there.

The BJP has fielded Chief Minister, BC Khanduri from the high profile Kotdwar seat from where Surendra Singh Negi is contesting as a Congress nominee. Negi has been a four-time MLA. In a bid to woo the more than 84,000 electorates, both the stalwarts have pitched in for a strong campaigning against each other in the region.

With abolition of Dhumkot seat due to delimitation of constituency, Khanduri is banking on Kotdwar seat to enter Assembly House. However, Khanduri has to face stiff competition from Negi who has won twice on the Congress ticket and once as an independent candidate from the Kotdwar constituency. He also got place in the state Cabinet after the first assembly election held in 2002.

In order to reach out the voters spread in 60 kilometre radius of the Kotdwar constituency, both the contenders and their team are leaving no stone unturned to capture the seat.

However, issues related to the development of the constituency have been posing serious trouble for both the contestants. The leaders are facing questions raised by the locals on the development of the region. From accessibility of basic amenities to the fulfillment of promises made by the incumbent party, the electorates are pointing fingers on the work done in last 10 years.

Both the national party contenders are trying to justify their stand. The decisions of voters will be clear on March 6.