Dhulia (Dehradun): The Uttarakhand government has deferred the formation of four new districts announced by the former Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank. The proposal of new district formation has been put before a committee headed by the state chief secretary.

According to sources, the issue of formation of new district was widely discussed in a Cabinet meeting on Saturday which failed to reach any conclusion. Talking about the committee which is mulling over the proposal now, a government spokesperson said that very soon a report would be submitted to the government in this regard.

It is worth mentioning that Uttarakhand former Chief Minister had announced formation of four new districts of Kotdwar, Yamunotri, Didihaat and Ranikhet.