The Supreme Court on Thursday is likely to hear a petition of Aziz Qureshi, which was filed on Wednesday and the Chief Justice of India RM Lodha will take up the case.

Uttarakhand Governor in his petition has asserted that no one except the President can ask him to quit from his post. He also cited a apex court ruling that, a Governor is not an employee of the central government.

It is worth mentioning that as BJP-led NDA came to power on May 16, many Governors appointed during Congress-led UPA rule immediately quit from their posts.

After NDA government came to power Governors of Goa, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana resigned.

However, Ram Naik was appointed as UP Governor, Om Prakash Kohli, Keshari Nath Tripathi, Balram Das, and Kaptan Singh Solanki were sworn-in as Goa, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Haryana Governors respectively.

Latest News from India News Desk