Haridwar: The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Sunday announced the third list of its candidates for Uttarakhand assembly elections scheduled in 2012.

The BSP, which has always championed the cause of Dalits and other backward communities, has given preference to the upper castes while choosing the third list candidates for the state.

However, the BSP is yet to declare candidates for the remaining nine assembly constituencies of the state.

The declaration for constituencies was made by state president Surajmal after getting the approval from party supremo Mayawati. Surajmal said, “Party candidates for the remaining nine constituencies would be finalized soon.”

The party has fielded Vijendra Prasad Nautiyal from Yamunotri constituency, Hukum Singh Pokhriyal from Gangotri assembly seat, Dhir Singh Bisht from Rudra Pratap, Ajay Kumar Sood for Raipur, Nupur Gupta from Dehradun Cantonment, Rajendra Singh Kutiyal from Dharchula and Govind Ballabh Pandey from Lohaghat.