Dehradun: The Election Commission’s announcement of polls schedule for Uttarakhand assembly elections two weeks earlier has left all political parties in a tizzy. While no preparations for elections have been made by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the opposition Congress, leaders of which camping in Delhi, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has been excelling in the poll campaigns.

The BSP has already announced the list of its candidates and kicked off door-to-door public interaction.

Meanwhile, the BJP state in-charge Thavar Chand Gehlot has said that if the party regains power in the state, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri will remain the Chief Minister of the state. In his regular briefing at the party’s state office, he said, “The BJP government has achieved a historic feat by passing Lokayukta and Public Services Guarantee Act in the state.”

The party on Tuesday accepted the feedback from the election coordinators appointed on the 70 seats of the state for the task a few months back. Also, along with Gehlot, Joint General Secretary (Organisation) Saudan Singh, National Spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman, former state president Bachi Singh Rawat involved in separate brainstorming sessions with other leaders regarding poll preparedness. However, the BJP is still lagging behind in preparations for the big day.

Similarly, the Congress state office is also wearing a deserted look as the senior leaders of the state are present in the national capital for meeting of the selection panel. As the contenders for tickets for Pauri, Chamoli, Rudraprayag, Tehri and Uttarkashi are present in Dehradun, the districts are still devoid of any party campaign for the elections.

However, the ‘Rath Yatra’ organized by the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, the youth wing of BJP infused some vigour into the election campaign in New Tehri.

The situation remained the same in Haridwar as the supporters of the Cabinet Minister and BJP contender from Haridwar, Madan Kaushik, reached the masses for support.

Meanwhile, as per the directions of the Elections Commission, the administration started removing the banners and hoardings depicting state government’s achievements at public places.

The locations have also been announced for filing nominations for 11 constituencies which will be filled at the District Magistrate’s office. In the Kumaon region, the district administration has prepared a database of the officers in Almora, Nainital, Pithoragarh, Champawat, Bageshwar and Udham Singh Nagar. Also, the police and administrative officials have been handed over the responsibilities related with the elections.