Raje said the BJP has set a goal of winning all the parliamentary constituencies in the state.

"I am expecting very good results. We have set a mission 25 to win all the parliamentary constituencies in Rajasthan and I hope that we should win all constituencies," she told the media after exercising her franchise at the polling station set up in Topkhana school in Jhalawar.

Launching a scathing attack on the Congress-led UPA government, Raje said, “The UPA government has betrayed people and voters know it hence the results would in the favour of the party,” she added.

The polling began at 7 am peacefully on the first polling day of Lok Sabha election in 20 out of 25 parliamentary seats in Rajasthan.

An average of 13.74 percent of close to 3.48 crore votes were polled till 10 am, according to election officials.

Ganganagar (SC) seat registered highest voter turnout of 20.76 percent whereas Banswara, Pali, Jhalawar Baran and Udaipur (ST) recorded 19.35, 15.97, 15.59 and 15.65 percent voting respectively.

Polling in Jodhpur, where the contest is mainly between Congress candidate and Union Minister Chandresh Kumari and BJP candidate Gajendra Singh, was lowest at 8.45 percent in the initial hours.

Altogether 239 candidates including 17 women are in the fray in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the first phase.

38, 835 polling stations have been set up in the first phase and 5942 among them are critical polling stations.

The Lok Sabha constituencies where polling is going on are: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Ajmer, Nagaur, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran.


Latest News from State News Desk