Protem Speaker P Narayanaswamy Naidu announced the election of Kodela.     

The protem Speaker then ushered the new Speaker into the Chair in the old Assembly building, which has been allotted to Andhra Pradesh following the bifurcation.

Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Leader of Opposition YS Jaganmohan Reddy, Legislative Affairs Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu and other legislators escorted Kodela to the Chair.

Kodela, a surgeon by profession, won assembly election from Guntur district for the sixth time.

The main opposition YSR Congress had supported Kodela's candidature for the post of Speaker. Upon a request by Legislative Affairs Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Jaganmohan Reddy signed Kodela's nomination papers.

The Chief Minister Jagan and other members congratulated Kodela upon his election as Speaker.


Latest News from State News Desk