Chandigarh: Giving in to the demand of the House, Haryana Legislative Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Sharma announced an all-party committee of the Assembly to look into the trusts and societies run by former Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala and his family.

The decision was taken after the recommendation of the Crime Bureau of Investigation (CBI) to include the trusts and societies under the control of the government. 

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Randeep Singh Surjewala assured the House that the government will take action on the committee's report.

During the attention motion in the Assembly, Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) Raghubir Singh Kadian demanded the resignation of Opposition leader Om Prakash Chautala, along with Ajay Chautala and Abhay Chautala, as chargesheets have been filed against them in the court.

Expressing his disapproval on the demand for their resignation, the Parliamentary Affairs Minister said, “On allegations of corruption George Fernandes, Natwar Singh, A Raja, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Shashi Tharoor, Dayanidhi Maran, Haryana Minister Om Prakash Jain and Chief Parliamentary Secretary Jile Ram Sharma had resigned from their posts, not from the Assembly or Parliament membership.”

During the discussion, Krishna Lal Gujjar of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) raised a demand for investigation into the panchayat lands given to the Chautala trusts since Haryana’s formation. He also raised the issue of land allotted to Maharana Pratap Charitable Trust, Bhiwani.