Dehradun: After hectic lobbying for plum portfolios, Uttarakhand ministers were allocated their departments. Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna who faced stern opposition from rival Harish Rawat over his swearing-in for the coveted post, kept 20 departments including Home, Power and Environment with himself. 

Bahuguna, who took oath on March 13 and expanded his ministry seven days later, will also be in charge of other important departments like Information, Excise, Forest and Environment, Eradication of Corruption, Housing and Education.

Indira Hridayesh, the only minister who was given the portfolios of Parliamentary Affairs and Law last week, will be the new Finance Minister.

He will also hold the additional charge of Census, an official announcement said.

Uttarakhand Congress chief Yashpal Arya has been given Irrigation, Revenue, Rehabilitation, Watershed Management, Disaster Management and Cooperative.

Surendra Singh Negi a loyalist of Union Minister Harish Rawat who raised the banner of revolt in the state Congress against the choice of Bahuguna for the top job, will look after Health, Family Welfare, Ayush, Science and Technology, Biotechnology, Sugar and Sugarcane Development.

Pritam Singh, another Rawat loyalist, has been entrusted with the responsibility of Food and Civil Supply and Small Irrigation, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj.

Bahguna, who met Congress chief Sonia Gandhi in Delhi on Saturday, has come under pressure from several quarters in the faction-ridden Congress which demanded plum departments making the portfolio-allocation a tricky exercise. Amrita Rawat, wife of senior Congress leader Satpal Maharaj, will look after Child Welfare, Renewable Energy
Resources, Tourism and Horticulture and Culture.

Dinesh Agarwal, an MLA from Dharampur, has been allocated portfolios of Planning, IT and Sports and Youth Welfare.

Independent MLA Mantri Prasad Naithani has been given the charge of Agriculture, School Education and Drinking Water.

Harish Durgapal, another independent MLA, has been entrusted with the responsibility of Labour, Employment and Small and Village Industries.

Surendra Rakesh, a BSP legislator, has been allocated Social Welfare and Transport departments.

Pritam Singh Panwar, the lone MLA of the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal [UKD], will head departments of Urban Development, Animal Husbandry and Fishery.

The Congress, which emerged as the single largest party in the just-concluded Uttarakhand Assembly election, formed the government with the support of three Independents, three BSP MLAs and the lone Uttarakhand Kranti Dal legislator.