Patel powered Gujarat to 273 for nine before their medium pacers RP Singh (4/42) and Jasprit Bumrah (5/28) brought the star-studded Delhi batting to its knees, dismissing the 2013-14 winners for 134 in 32.3 overs.
The start to the chase could not have been worse Delhi, who lost Rishabh Pant off the first ball of the match before seeing the back of Shikhar Dhawan (5) and skipper Gautam Gambhir (9).

There was a glimmer of hope as long as Unmukt Chand (33) was in the middle but that was also dashed with his dismissal in the 17 over, leaving Delhi derailed at 59 for five. Off-spinner Pawan Negi delayed the inevitable with a fighting 57 off 47 balls.
Earlier, Patel led from the front to take Gujarat to a competitive total at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium after Delhi decided to field. The other contributions came from Rujul Bhatt (60) and Chiran Gandhi (44 not out).

More news on Vijay Hazare Trophy

Latest News from Sports News Desk