New Delhi: Chennai produced a near-perfect game and crushed Royal Challengers Bangalore to lift their second IPL trophy in a trot. The match was completely dominated by the home team as they won the final by 58 runs.

MS Dhoni has proved once again for Chennai Super Kings on Saturday that anything he touches turns to gold. The numbers of trophies that team India have won in the past four years in every form of the game makes him India’s greatest captain ever. No one even comes close.

Vijay never looked good throughout the tournament, but Dhoni stuck with him.

In the post match award ceremony he appreciated the effort made by M Vijay and Michel Hussey saying “They laid the foundation stone for victory by posting 159 runs off 14.5 overs for the first wicket”. Dhoni also hailed his opening bowler of the match R Ashwin saying “he is a big heart bowler who has provided us early break througs in most of the matches.”

Dhoni said that beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals was comparatively easier then it was last year when Chennai beat Mumbai Indians to win IPL-3 in 2010. Parsing the Chennai crowd he said “without them this win was not possible and thanked them for supporting the team throughout the tournament.”

Man of the match:  Murali Vijay who was awarded the man of the match award said, “I want to dedicate this knock to my mother as this win will bring a smile on her face.” Vijay added that in the earlier matches he failed to convert 30-40 runs innings into a big score but the final game was different altogether, “I was hitting the ball very well and got good support form Hussey, who smashed 63 runs.”

Rising star of the tournament: For his excellent spin bowling, Iqbal Abdulla was named as the rising star of the tournament. In the presence of some legendary cricketers like Kallis and Gambhir, the youngster played a key role in several victories of KKR.

Best Innings of the tournament: For his knock of 120 not out Paul Valthaty bagged the award. He struck as many as 19 four and two sixes in the innings which helped Kings XI Punjab register a victory over Chennai Super Kings in the league stage.

Best Catch: Keiron Pollard who took 10 catches in the tournament was named for the special award for fielding. Three catches taken by the West Indian in different matches won him the ‘Kamal catch award’

Purple Cap: From the very start of the tournament, Lasith Malinga took a big lead over the other bowlers. With 27 wickets, he earned the Purple Cap.

Orange Cap: The lanky West Indian Chris Gayle got the Orange cap for making 608 runs in 12 innings IPL 4. The most destructive batsman of the tournament took his team to the finals.
Fairplay award: For the second year in succession, Chennai Super Kings won the fairplay award.