Mumbai: Virat Kohli is all set to lead Team India as the selectors opted to rest Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and four other key players for the upcoming ODI tour of Zimbabwe.

Young all-rounder Parveez Rasool created history by becoming the first cricketer from Jammu and Kashmir to be named in the Indian team.
The 24-year-old Rasool, who has been in contention for national selection for a while now after a string of impressive performances, got the nod in the 15-member squad with the selectors preferring to go in with a young team for the five-match ODI series, to be held from July 24 to August 3 at Harare and Bulawayo.
Prolific batsman Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane were also recalled in the squad to be led by young Virat Kohli who is currently captaining the team in the West Indies following a hamstring injury to Dhoni.
Apart from Dhoni, pacemen Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and spinner Ravichandran Aswhin were also rested while opener Murali Vijay was dropped from the team.
The selectors also decided to ignore veterans like Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar and Yuvraj Singh.
The team has seven specialist batsmen, three spinners and four fast bowlers and one wicketkeeper-batsman in Dinesh Karthik.
The decision to rest Ashwin paved the way for Rasool's selection in the senior team since he is also an off-spinner who has earned praise from the legendary Bishan Singh Bedi, who has coached Jammu & Kashmir in the past season.
Rasool, who was once arrested in Bangalore for allegedly carrying explosives before being released, made headlines after being named in the India A squad for the warm-up matches against England and Australia in late 2012 and early this year.
Although he did not make much of an impact against England, Rasool returned impressive figures of 7/45 against the Aussies in February. In that particular match he was also the second highest scorer for his team with 36.
The all-rounder cashed in on the opportunity to become the first cricketer from the valley to bag an IPL contract when he was signed by Pune Warriors India ahead of the sixth edition of the cash-rich T20 league.
He has taken 46 wickets in 17 first-class matches and 1003 runs at an average of 38.57.
Indian team for Zimbabwe:
Virat Kohli (captain),  Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parveez Rasool, Mohammed Shami, Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.


Latest News from Sports News Desk