Hyderabad: A blistering century by skipper Virender Sehwag propelled Delhi Daredevils to register a scintillating victory by 4 wickets against sloppy Deccan Chargers. Chasing a gigantic total of 176 runs, Daredevils faced some early jolts, but the fiery batman held the fort from one end and hit his maiden IPL century.

VIEW SCORECARD: Delhi Daredevils VS Deccan Chargers

The swashbuckling batsman took just 48 balls to complete his much needed ton.

After three early jolts, skipper Virender Sehwag took the Daredevil’s command as he flourishing the team’s score with his fiery hands all around the fence.  

Earlier, Dale Steyn started off fiercely as he scalped Aaron Finch in his first over for ‘duck’.

Earlier, a blistering 55 off 31 balls by JP Duminy and a quick fire 44 off 36 helped Deccan Chargers to set a gigantic target in front of Delhi Daredevils.

Luck favoured swashbuckling JP Duminy against Daredevils as he was survived twice on Yogesh Nagar’s delivery, but umpire’s decision of no-balls shielded him at the crease. Finally Duminy was fell short off crease and went back to the pavilion on 55 runs.

Deccan Chargers skipper Kumar Sangakkara departed after a healthy knock. Skipper struck 8 boundaries in his 44 runs innings.

Spearhead Aavishkar Salvi drew the first blood for Daredevils as he scalped Deccan’s opener Dwaraka Ravi Teja on a futile score of 2 runs.

Delhi Daredevils skipper Virender Sehwag has won the toss and elected to field against Deccan Chargers here on Thursday.

It will be a clash for survival when Virender Sehwag led Delhi Daredevils take on struggling Kumar Sangakkara’s Deccan Chargers in their Indian Premier League encounter at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

Daredevils will not only have to win all their remaining matches, but also hope that other results turn out in their favour if they want a backdoor entry into the play- off stage of the IPL.

While the responsibility will be heavily on the Daredevils opening duo—Virender Sehwag and David Warner, who can give a blazing start to the team.

Although Morne Morkel - 11 wickets - and Irfan Pathan - six wickets - have fired in patches, the consistency is definitely missing.

The domestic players have been the biggest disappointment for Delhi as other than Venugopal Rao, 250 runs from nine matches, most have failed to justify their selection.

Led by Sangakkara, Deccan has failed to click as a unit. One more loss and they too will be on the verge of an early exit from the play.

The hosts have Dale Steyn, who has picked 10 wickets from eight games at a good economy of 6.85. Ishant Sharma, however, has failed to pick up wickets regularly or stem the flow of runs.

But Amit Mishra and Pragyan Ojha have done a fine job and Sangakkara will be hoping that they can spin a web around the Delhi batsmen.

In the batting department, the likes of Cameron White - 89 runs from five matches - and domestic star Shikhar Dhawan - 197 runs from nine matches - have failed to take the initiative.

It has been a lone battle for Sangakkara - 250 runs from nine matches - who too has failed to get going in tough situations.

In the bowling department, while Irfan seemed to be hitting a nice rhythm as he got the ball to swing in to the batsmen, Morkel was content hitting the deck and troubling the batsmen with pace.


Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Harmeet Singh, Amit Mishra, J Theron, Manpreet Gony, Akash Bhandari, DW Steyn, Shikhar Dhawan, DB Raviteja, Arjun Yadav, Sunny Sohal, Abhinav Kumar, Bharat Chipli, Ishank Jaggi, Jaydev Shah, Kedar Devdhar, Chris Lynn, Michael Lumb, JP Duminy, I Malhotra, AA Reddy, Cameron White, Anand Rajan, Daniel Christian and Ankit Sharma.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Morne Morkel,Irfan Pathan, Ashok Dinda, Travis Birt, Colin Ingram, Robert Frylinck, Roelof van der Merwe, Matthew Wade, Andrew McDonald, Ajit Agarkar, Y Venugopal Rao, Umesh Yadav, Aaron Finch, Naman Ojha, Vikas Mishra, James Hopes, David Warner, Unmukt Chand, Robin Bist, Varun Raymond Aaron, Aavishkar Salvi, Rajesh Pawar, Sridharan Sriram, Yogesh Nagar, Vivek Yadav, Ajit Chandila.