"Last year VoA was issued to 43 countries. As tourism in the country has increased, I propose to increase the countries covered under this to 150," Jaitley said while presenting the union budget in parliament.

Number of tourists arriving in India has increased by several times as compared to previous year after the launch of visa on arrival (VoA) enabled Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) scheme for 43 countries.

A total of 25,023 tourists arrived in India in January this year using the VoA enabled ETA scheme as against 1903 in the same month last year, registering a growth of 1214.9 per cent growth, according to tourism ministry data.

Government extended the VoA enabled ETA facility for 43 countries in November 2014. Prior to it, the VoA scheme was in operation for 12 countries only.

Latest News  from Business News Desk