Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Defence Minister A.K. Antony and Culture Minister Chandresh Kumari Katoch will also be present on the occasion at Vigyan Bhawan.

A national committee under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister was formed in 2010 to celebrate the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda.

“A National Implementation Committee (NIC) was constituted in July, 2010, and it approved proposals involving an estimated expenditure of Rs.252.45 crore for propagating the teachings and legacy of Swami Vivekananda,” an official source said.

"An allocation of Rs.70 crore has been made for the commemoration ceremony," he added.

The celebrations had begun Jan 12, 2013, when commemorative postage stamps and coins were released.