According to reports, the BJP workers shouted slogans against the former army chief when he visited the party office in Ghaziabad on the occasion of Holi. BJP president Rajnath Singh is the Member of Parliament from this constituency at present.

The saffron party is apparently having a tough time in deciding the names of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. Earlier, there were reports of tussle over Varanasi constituency between sitting MP Murli Manohar Joshi and the party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. Disgruntled party workers had also burnt the BJP president’s effigy a day after former Uttar Pradesh president Surya Pratap Shahi was denied ticket from Deoria.

Several leaders in Bihar were also unhappy with the BJP High Command for denying Lok Sabha ticket to actor-turned politician Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib.

General (retired) Singh joined the BJP, along with a number of other ex-servicemen, last month. He joined the saffron brigade months after he shared dais with Modi at an ex-servicemen rally in Rewari, Haryana.


Latest News from India News Desk