While Omar lost from Sonawar Assembly segment by a margin of over 4,700 votes, the National Conference (NC) leader managed to win from the Beerwah constituency in Budgam district by a slender margin of over 1,000 votes.

In all, eight ministers from Congress, six from NC and one from Democratic Party Nationalist lost the elections. Prominent among the losers included Deputy Chief Minister Tara Chand, Health Minister Taj Mohiuddin, Tourism Minister Ghulam Ahmad Mir (all Congress), Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather and Social Welfare Minister Sakina Itoo (both NC) and Agriculture Minister Ghulam Hassan Mir (DPN).

Horticulture Minister Raman Bhalla, PHE minister Sham Lal Sharma, Cooperatives Minister Manohar Lal Sharma and R&B Minister Abdul Majid Wani (all Congress) lost to their rivals from BJP. Haj and Auqaf Minister and Congress leader Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed lost to PDP candidate and namesake of Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather.
Law Minister Mir Saifullah and CAPD Minister Choudhary Mohammad Ramzan (both NC) lost to Peoples Conference's Bashir Ahmad Dar and Sajjad Ghani Lone, respectively.
National Conference leader and Planning Minister Ajay Kumar Sadhotra lost to BJP incumbent MLA Sukhnandan Kumar from Marh Assembly segment in Jammu district.

Latest News from State News Desk