"Polling will be held from 7 AM to 6 PM in 1,680 wardsof 46 civic bodies in which altogether 7,375 candidates are contesting," RSEC Commissioner Ramlubhaya said.

Over 35,000 armed personnels of state police, Rajasthan Armed Constabulary and Home Guards would be deployed to ensure free and fair polls, Special Additional Director- General of Police (Law and Order) Navdeep Singh said.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) will be used in the polls and results will be announced on November 25.

Subsequently, the election of municipal chairman and mayors in six corporations will take place on November 26.

Six municipal corporations-- Jaipur, Kota, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Udaipur and Bharatpur, 18 municipal councils and 22 municipalities will go to polls after five years.

Over 63.09 lakh electors are eligible to cast their votes at 6,135 polling booths in 1,680 wards. Both Congress and BJP have fielded their candidates in almost every ward.     

After withdrawal of nominations on November 15, ten candidates of the ruling BJP and six of opposition Congress were elected unopposed in civic polls.

Latest News from State News Desk