Nine candidates, including NDA-ally AJSU Party's Neeru Shanti Bhagat, Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee president-cum-party candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat and an ex-MLA, are in the fray.

Former Jharkhand Minister Bandhu Tirkey is also contesting on Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) ticket.

The Lohardaga Assembly seat fell vacant after sitting AJSU Party's MLA Kamal Kishore Bhagat was sentenced jail term by the Court in connection with the 1993 attack on a doctor in Ranchi and was disqualified from the state Assembly following the verdict. Neeru Bhagat is the wife of Bhagat.

Altogether 2,19,595 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in 272 polling booths, official said.

Adequate security arrangements have also been made to ensure free and fair polls.

Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk