At the end of the tenth-round of counting, Dayakar secured 3,37,122 votes. Congress nominee and former Union Minister Sarve Satyanarayana got 88,419 votes, while BJP's P Devaiah, supported by TDP, received 67,739 votes.

The by-poll, held on November 21, was necessitated following the resignation of Kadiyam Srihari after he was made Deputy Chief Minister. Srihari had won the seat with a margin of 3.9 lakh votes in last year's election.

"A big thanks to Warangal. You've inspired us to work more and better," tweeted K Taraka Rama Rao, the Minister for Panchayatraj, Rural Development and Information Technology and son of Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao.

Latest News from State News Desk