Kolkata: Despite West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee being in favour of inducting Abhijit Mukherjee, son of Union finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, into the state Cabinet, Abhijit could not be sworn-in as minister because some of the Congressmen from the state have opposed the first-time MLA from taking over as a minister.

And this is the reason that the five ministers of state from Congress quota have not been able to take oath as yet because the final list has not been arrived at.

Now, the central leadership has given the charge of ensuring a consensus on five names for the ministerial posts to the Congress state president Dr Manas Bhunia and West Bengal in-charge Shakeel Ahmed.

Senior leader Devrat Basu said the decision will be made soon. Till now, Dr Bhuian and Abu Hena are the only two Congress Legislators who have been sworn-in as Cabinet ministers from the Congress quota.

Sources say that the list of seven Congress legislators taking oath as ministers was final, but the internal protest forced the party to delay the decision.

The sources said that Dev Prasad Roy, Ajay De, Ravi Chattopadhyay, Aashit Mal and Abhijit Mukherjee were the top contenders for ministerial berths.

One of the important reasons for Mamata supporting Abhijit’s candidature is his father’s role in backing Mamata before the Congress high Command and help her reach where she has.