Twenty-two constituencies in Murshidabad, 17 in Nadia and 16 in Burdwan districts and seven in north Kolkata are up for grabs.

Thursday marks the second and final round of voting in Burdwan, where nine constituencies went to the hustings on April 11. "Till 9.00 am, overall 20 percent polling was recorded. The turnout in Murshidabad was 20.53 percent, Nadia 18.09 percent, Burdwan 17.01 percent and Kolkata 14.71 percent," said an Election Commission (EC) official.

The EC officials also received over 800 complaints, including those of violence, voter intimidation, and disruption to poll process, during the ballotting so far.

In Domkal of Murshidabad district, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) activist Tahidul Islam was killed when crude bombs were hurled at him.

While the EC has sought a report over the attack, CPI-M leader Anisur Rahaman has accused the Trinamool Congress for the killing. The ruling party has denied the charge.

"Apprehensive of defeat, Trinamool has been indulging in terror tactics and Islam's death is a result of that," said Rahaman, contesting from Domkal.
Also read: CPI-M activist killed in violence during Bengal Assembly polls
However, Trinamool's Domkal nominee Soumik Hossain denied the charge and claimed the death was a result of a clash between the CPI-M and the Congress. Whistle-blower former Indian Police Service officer Nazrul Islam, who too is contesting from Domkal, accused the EC of being "intentionally incompetent".

"Despite repeated pleas, no efforts were made to arrest criminals from the area nor were illegal weapons seized. It is not that the EC is incompetent or can't do it. They intentionally did not do it," said Islam."The EC has chosen to be intentionally incompetent, the reason being a tacit understanding between ruling parties at the Centre (BJP) and the state (Trinamool)," added Islam, who is contesting as a candidate of Mulnibasi Party, an outfit floated by him.

Reports of violence were also reported from Ketugram in Burdwan district where three people were injured after crude bombs were thrown near a polling booth.Several crude bombs were recovered from near a booth in Saguna in Nadia district too.

Both the CPI-M and the Congress alleged their polling agents were assaulted and driven out in several booths. Booth-capturing and voter intimidation also took place in several areas. Over 1.37 crore (1,37,42,000) voters are eligible to elect their legislators across 16,461 polling stations, including 10 auxiliary booths, from a field of 418 candidates -- 34 of them female.

In the assembly polls in the 62 constituencies five years back, then allies Trinamool and Congress captured 45 seats, with the Trinamool taking 29 and the Congress 16. Among the Left Front partners, the CPI-M had won 14, and the Revolutionary Socialist Party, Samajwadi Party and All India Forward Bloc one each.

Latest News from West Bengal News Desk