Kolkata: Defying a Maoist boycott and braving the scorching sun, over 83 percent electorate voted amid heavy security in the sixth and final phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections on Tuesday. Polling remained peaceful by and large and no untoward incident was reported in the state during the day.

Maoists had called for boycott of elections but gave no hint of bloodshed in the poll-bound districts. However, to ensure violence-free elections over one lakh security forces were deployed in sensitive areas and in highly sensitive Maoist-hit areas, CoBRA (Commando Battalions for Resolute Action) battalion was positioned.  Three helicopters maintained an aerial surveillance of the booths.

The 14 constituencies which went to polls for the last phase of Assembly elections on Tuesday fall in the Maoist-infested parts of West Midnapore (7 constituencies), Bankura (3 constituencies) and Purulia (4 constituencies).

The constituencies witnessed 71 percent voter turnout by afternoon as voters began casting their franchise from 6 am.

Fate of political bigwigs like Law Minister Rabi Lal Moitra, Minister of State for Backward Classes Deblina Hembram and Minister of State for Development Sushant Ghosh were sealed in the EVMs.
CPM has fielded 11 candidates; CPI -1, Trinamool Congress-9, Forward Block-2, Congress-4 and BJP has fielded 14 candidates.