The announcement was made following a meeting of the party's Central Election Committee (CEC) attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah, among others.

The Party, however, did not announce its candidates for Kerala due to 'some pending issues'. Union Minister and CEC Secretary J P Nadda said the party has given representation to "all sections" of society in list. He said young candidates have been preferred and 26 women figured among the candidates announced so far.

With today's announcement, BJP has declared its candidates for 246 seats in the 294-member state assembly. Sinha will contest from Jorasanko seat in Kolkata, while Ganguly, who is the party's state women's wing chief, will try her luck from Howrah North.

Former state party youth wing president Amitava Roy will be in the fray from Barrackpore and actor Suman Banerjee from English Bazar, Nadda said.

About the list of candidates for Kerala, he said, the CEC has approved nominees for several seats but it will released after completion of certain formalities.

Sources said the state BJP leadership had released a list of candidates for 22 seats a few days ago, making the task a "little difficult" for the central leadership. It is not clear if all the names announced by the state unit will find favour with the Party's central leadership.

Latest News from West Bengal News Desk