Although BJP's vote share in West Bengal dipped since the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from 17.5 percent to 10.2 percent in the recently concluded Assembly polls, yet for the first time the party won three seats fighting on its own in the state.
Earlier, BJP had won twice in by-polls and had polled around 4.06 percent votes in 2011. Statistics and BJP's vote percentage would bring smiles on the faces of the party's state leadership, which had lost much of its steam in the last two years.
In this Assembly polls, BJP has not only garnered around 56 lakh votes, up from 19.5 lakh in 2011, it has made its presence felt in 262 out of 294 Assembly segments where the saffron party polled more than 10,000 votes.
"In 2014, we had secured 17 percent votes because of the Narendra Modi wave across the country. We didn't have any organisational base in Bengal. This time there was no such wave.

What we have got is because of the organisational strength of our party. The best thing is not just three seats, but we have made our presence felt in maximum seats and have secured second position in seven seats," BJP state president Dilip Ghosh told a news agency.
Apart from Ghosh, who won the Kharagpur Sadar seat by defeating veteran Congress leader and alliance candidate Gyan Singh Sohanpal, BJP won Malda's Baishnabnagar seat and Madarihat seat in North Bengal, both by defeating alliance candidates.
"This will be our base to prepare for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and 2021 Assembly polls. From North Bengal to South Bengal we have increased our vote share and will broaden our base," Ghosh said. This time, BJP has secured around 20,000 to 30,000 votes in 66 seats, 30,000 to 40,000 votes in 16 seats and around 40,000 to 50,000 votes in six seats.

Latest News from State News Desk