The feature was first tested for selective users and then launched. To avail the services, the Android users need to download version 2.11.528 from the Google Play Store.

Earlier, users whose voice-calling feature was activated had the advantage of passing the invitation to their friends by making a call through WhatsApp, but the invite feature was later on removed.

Other messenger apps which provides voice-calling facility are Hike, Viber, Line, Nanu, among others. But, WhatsApp that reportedly is the much famous messaging app than others, attracting around 70 million active monthly users, can add another edge to its user base in India with this add-on feature.

Follow these steps to prevent stalkers on WhatsApp

WhatsApp has undoubtedly made things easier and convenient in many aspects but with the increase in its user base, the privacy concerns and risks are also growing in same ratio.

But with little precaution, the users can prevent their private information from being accessed by unknown people and many a  times stalkers. Lets have a quick look at the steps which can be helpful in preventing such events.

Block the unknown people

The users can block the unknown people (sometimes even friends) who you feel are making any kind of inconvenience to you. Just click on the number and select the 'block' option to get rid of them.


Hide you profile picture
 
The users have the option to hide or limit the access of their profile picture. Click on settings, go to accounts, select privacy and than select the blocking option as per your need.


Manage your 'Last Seen'

The users can also manage their 'Last seen' option from the privacy settings. Similarly, you can also hide your 'Status' from the unknown people.


Manage Blue Ticks

The users can disable the 'Read Receipts' feature which facilitates the users to know when their messages are being read by the the receiver.

Once this feature is enabled, the receiver will not be able to see the blue tick marks even if you have read the messages. To disable the feature, one has to go to the privacy option in his/her app settings and disable the 'Read Receipts' option.