It is not the first time when both the Delhi government and Centre, through its representative Lt Governor, were involved in the battle of supremacy. Ever since the constitution of Delhi's first Legislative Assembly in November 1993, all the Chief Ministers be it BJP stalwart Madan Lal Khurana, jat leader Sahib Singh Verma, Sushma Swaraj or veteran Congress leader Sheila Dikshit, everyone has found himself/herself powerless at one point of time.

It is a well known fact that the Delhi Chief Minister is dependent on the whims and fancies of bureaucrats appointed by the Lt Governor. This lack of power has forced the Delhi Chief Minister to clash with the Centre.

When the BJP formed government headed by Madan Lal Khurana in 1993, the Congress was at the helm of affairs at Centre. Again, when Sheila Dikshit became Delhi CM, it was the NDA at the Centre. The four Chief Ministers Khurana, Saheb Singh Verma, Sushma Swaraj and Dikshit occasionally clashed with the LG on issues. They pitched for Union government for full statehood in their own way.

Latest News from India News Desk