Malinga had missed the recent tour to India along with Mathews and seamer Nuwan Kulasekara, who was also nursing a niggle.
The team features veteran batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan and left-arm spinner Rangana Herath have also made the cut for the big-ticket event starting March 8.

Read more news from World T20

Surprise omission is fast bowler Kasun Rajitha who stunned India at Pune with a three wicket burst and helped Sri Lanka win the first T20. Sri Lanka lost their number one T20 ranking in January in New Zealand and then lost 2-1 to India in the recent series.
The squad:
Lasith Malinga (Captain), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, TM Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath and Jeffrey Vandersay.

Latest News from Sports News Desk