They are among 54 people to be conferred the honour at the Union Buildings in Pretoria on Sunday.
The Order of Mendi for Bravery will be bestowed on three Indian South African veterans of the freedom struggle. Indres Naidoo, Shirish Nanabhai and Reggie Vandeyar will receive the Order for their contribution in the fight against unjust laws of apartheid and for striving for a free and democratic South Africa.
The Order of Luthuli, given to those who have contributed to the struggle for human rights and nation-building, will be bestowed on Abdhulhay Jassat.
Jasat has contributed significantly to the struggle for liberation and advancing democracy among all South African citizens through selfless sacrifice.
The Order of Mapungubwe in Bronze will be bestowed on Namrita Lall - an associate professor in the Department of Plant Science at the University of Pretoria - for her contribution in the field of medical sciences.
National Orders are the highest awards that South Africa bestows on its citizens who have made a significant impact on improving the lives of its citizens.
Among the international figures to be honoured are Lord Richard Attenborough of United Kingdom and American film celebrities Danny Glover and Quincy Jones for their support in fighting apartheid.


Latest News from World News Desk